Felicity Huffman Charged in Cheating Scandal and My Heart Breaks

felicityYeah, sure, my kids grew up with “Full House.”Jessie, Danny, the Olson twins, Aunt Becky, and all the rest. So let my kids worry about Lori Laughlin as she and her husband get charged in the college admissions scandal. But it isn’t Lori’s lost innocence that I will be mourning. I just have one question. Felicity Huffman, how could you do this to me?

I can admit it now. I had a super-crush on Felicity. And we aren’t talking about the “Desperate Housewives” Lynette Scavo version. No, the Felicity that had me glued to the TV screen was Dana Whitaker, the character she played in “Sports Night,” a two-season (1198-2000) seriocomedy from the pen of Aaron Sorkin. She was sweet; she was down to earth; she was hot.

Playing off Josh Charles and Peter Krause Felicity/Dana lit up the screen. The show, set on a TV series mirroring ESPN SportsCenter, was canceled just when everyone was realizing how good it was. After cancellation most of the cast became regulars on other series, even pairing again with Sorkin in “The West Wing.” Felicity went on to stardom in “DH”, but I never felt the same connection with her. Maybe I missed the famed Aaron Sorkin walk-and-talk dialogue. Or maybe I just outgrew her. Certainly, in the last few years, I have seen more of her husband William H. Macy than I have seen Felicity. Out of sight, out of mind.

So that takes us to now. Felicity, a cheating scandal to get your daughter into the right college? Really? Pay-offs? You couldn’t just ask Aaron to write a kick-ass Letter of Recommendation? Or have him oversee your daughter’s personal essay? Everyone fudges on those, anyway. At least you (apparently)  kept hubby William out of this. I want him to keep working. He’s the one guy in Hollywood that Barb doesn’t have a thing for.

Maybe I’ll drown my sorrows with a 6-pack of “Sports Night” reruns on Hulu. That may ease the pain.

But what do I say to my kids about Lori Laughlin!??


Don’t forget to read yesterday’s blog about Jesse Smollett and patient privacy.


____
Like what you read here? Add your name to our subscription list below. No spam, I promise!
___

 

#mc_embed_signup{background:#fff; clear:left; font:14px Helvetica,Arial,sans-serif; }
/* Add your own MailChimp form style overrides in your site stylesheet or in this style block.
We recommend moving this block and the preceding CSS link to the HEAD of your HTML file. */

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Email Address *

First Name
Last Name

 

//s3.amazonaws.com/downloads.mailchimp.com/js/mc-validate.js(function($) {window.fnames = new Array(); window.ftypes = new Array();fnames[0]=’EMAIL’;ftypes[0]=’email’;fnames[1]=’FNAME’;ftypes[1]=’text’;fnames[2]=’LNAME’;ftypes[2]=’text’;}(jQuery));var $mcj = jQuery.noConflict(true);

Leave a comment